As I write this, my 4 year old is watching our Little Angels DVD for the third time in a row (and is giving me a guilt free moment to sit down and type my thoughts down about this new series).  Just so you get an idea of what other preschool DVD’s I recommend…the top of my list is LeapFrog Letter Factory and Little E

insteins for their educational value and Veggie Tales for character/christian education.  Those shows are top notch.  Little Angels has the same qualities that those other series have and is quickly making its way into my top 5 list because it covers a lot more ground.  It is educational (similar to Leap Frog) and truly focuses on character building story lines AND uses biblical topics and bible stories as it’s underpinning. It is the ultimate Christian educational/character/bible story dvd that keeps my child’s interest too. My older kids find themselves watching as well.  I cannot think of another Christian-preschool DVD series that covers as much ground as Little Angels.

Roma Downey (from Touched by an Angel) is the executive producer and has lovingly overseen this project.   She brought Phil Lollar on board as writer/director who is  known for writing Adventures in Odyssey (among other things).  This combination of talent has created a special project from the heart and a true labor of love.  This is clearly seen in the ‘bonus’ section of the DVD as Roma Downey has segments for parents called ‘Little Lessons from Roma’…sweet encouragement and suggestions on how to build on the lessons at home from the segment your child watched on the DVD.  Also, the Little Angels folks have recognized how homeschoolers may use this DVD as ‘curriculum’ and created additional printable curriculum and activities free for Homeschool Movie Club members.  It was written by Sheri Seligson who is a homeschool mom, the author of our Dolphin Tale curriculum, and most widely known for Apologia’s Marine Biology curriculum. One of my favorite things about the curriculum is that is written so that a mom or older sibling can carry out the lessons. I am excited to put my 9 year old in charge of a preschool lesson for her little brother. I think it w

ill be a sweet lesson in serving and responsibility for her to take on.

This is a special project worth bringing in your home and using to reinforce lessons on basic skills, bible stories, and character qualities. Thumbs up!

Sydney Forest Taylor

Homeschool mom

Resources:

Free Curriculum

“Little Lessons” with Roma

Little Angel's Logo

