My 'instant watch' queue

I love Netflix ‘instant watch’ and have found a lot of other homeschoolers are using it too (if you don’t use Netflix and know about ‘instant watch’…read here about how it works and try if for free).  Our family started using  it all the time when we figured out we could access it through our Blu-Ray player, Wii, and Roku box.  It is a bit like a treasure hunt as you sort through a lot of “C list” movies mixed up with some hidden gems.  Some of those movies may not seem that exciting to the general public, but are goldmine for a homeschooler.  For instance, there is a full National Geographic and History Channel library of movies.  So, if we are studying Lewis and Clark, we can quickly find resources like the National Geographic Lewis and Clark video. More importantly, I do not have to plan weeks in advance for  supplimentary tools like that. If I sense the kids are needing a little fun enrichment to break up the day, I can poke around and find something in the Netflix library that compliments whatever subject we are learning about in about 5 minutes or less.  The “Cat in the Hat Knows A Lot About That” series is a great example of that. It is a very educational collection of videos presented in a fun and lighthearted way. It covers many science subjects that are typically taught in the elementary school years. When we were learning about bees and watched the Moody Classics version of The City of Bees, we also watched the ‘Wings and Things‘ episode of Cat in the Hat through ‘instant watch’.

Using “’instant watch” is ultimately economical for a homeschool family as well.  For example, the God of Wonders video was selling at my local homeschool convention for $19.95.  I mentioned to the seller that it was in Netflix ‘instant watch and  he had no idea! It is great for family ‘movie night’ too. I was very excited to discover the Secretariat had been added to the ‘instant watch’ section, a movie I really wanted to see in the theaters and never got around to it, and then meant to order on ‘pay-per-view’ and never did. Now here it is in my queue, instantly waiting for me to watch!  I don’t have to buy it, order it, or rent it!

With all that said, I thought I would share with you some of the hidden gems I have found and show you what is in my queue today. Please let me know what is in your queue too!

Family Night Movies:

Secretariat

Toy Story 3

Iron Giant

Spy Kids

Homeschool Gems:

Cat in the Hat Knows A Lot About That (series)

Liberty Kids series

God of Wonders

Microcosmos

How’d They Build That ? (series)

17 Kids and Counting (series)

Leapfrog: Numbers Ahoy, Amazing Alphabet, Math Adventure to the Moon, Let’s Go to School

All the History Channel and National Geographic shows on specific topics (too many to list)

Jim Henson’s The StoryTeller: Greek Myths

The Miracle Maker: Story of Jesus

*so many more…will keep posting more over time!

Great Kid Shows:

Mother Goose Stories (39 episodes)

Veggie Tales (tons of tons)

The Little Engine That Could

Flipper (old series)

Andy Griffith Show (series)

Swiss Family Robinson

Jack and the Beanstalk

Thomas the Train (series)

How’d They Build That (series)

I know I am leaving out so many! This is just what jumped out at me as I scanned over my own ‘queue’.

Oooh…did I mention Netflix ‘instant watch’ also works on the iPad and iTouch  (if you have access to wi-fi)? That saved me at Grandma and Grandpa’s house when I forgot to bring any kid dvds!

~By Sydney Taylor (homeschool mom with kids under the age of 9)

